top of page

sci-fi space queendom romance

Release Date: November 21st 2018

Publisher: Bookouture

Series: duology

Format: ARC, 320 pages

Source: Netgalley

Disclaimer: YES! This has a love triangle but it IS a good book, so get over yourself and just read IT!

the story follows young Bel as she navigates her way life and dream, of being a pilot, after being thrown into an arranged marriage and made queen. This is a cut and dry story. It was enjoyable to read but it was nothing grasping. It was enjoyable in the sense that this is the type of YA that I am into but it was disappointing in the aspect of, world-building, and the writing.I did not have a problem with the love triangle, but I just wished if the book did not lean so heavily on that romance. Its nice and all but I would have much preferred to read a little more about Bel schooling her male peers in piloting.

Set in the galactic of Vairian and Anthaeus in time of war and treaties, the world building was a strong part of the story which I found to be an original concept but it would have been much more if more description went into the world. The book only mentioned the places and the names with a tidbit of information

Character:

Bel: the mc was easy to like. She is a motivated person who is dead set on her dreams and doe not let anyone Her character gives off an inspirational and badass vibe but that vibe feigned in and out throughout the story. There were times where she I did not have a problem with the love triangle, but it made Bel like any old typical YA female. Shae: the mc's first love interest. There were times during the story which I ponder on whether or not his character was relevant or not. Conleith: the mc's second love interest/forced marital partner is the nice The characters are the main part of the story which held much of my interest because they are well developed. I was able to feel a full emotional cycle with the characters, happiness, anger, and annoyance.

The writing is simple and easy to read. The pacing is fair except with Bel's character which I mentioned above.




This is will not be the first, of the top of my head, book that I will recommend to others but it will be in my lingering thoughts.






16 views1 comment
bottom of page